Midwest Meet of Champions - Team Michigan

 June 14, 2014
Grandville High School
Grandville, Ohio

A high school track and field meet featuring some of the top seniors from the Midwest.

The Midwest Meet of Champions is one of the longest running postseason high school track and field meets in the nation. The inaugural meet was held in 1974 at Fort Wayne Northrop High School in Indiana. Northrop hosted the meet for the next 12 years before it was held at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis from 1987-95. Ohio Wesleyan University staged the meet from 1996-2005 before it was held at Jackson High in Michigan from 2006-09.

The meet returned to Northrop High in 2010 and concluded a four-year run there in 2013. The meet will be held in Ohio for the next four years (2014-17) and in Michigan from 2018-21 before returning to Indiana for the 2022-25 editions.

The Midwest Meet of Champions has showcased some of the finest senior performers from Indiana, Michigan and Ohio since its inception and from Illinois from 1977-96. Numerous high school All-Americans have competed in the meet. Several of those athletes went on to win NCAA titles and a select few won medals at the Olympic Games or World championships.

 Earl Jones of Taylor (MI) Center High set a meet record of 4 minutes 7.19 seconds in the men's 1,600 meters and ran a scorching 45.6-second anchor leg for the victorious 1,600 relay team in the 1982 meet. He was the Olympic bronze medalist in the 800 two years later.

Brian Diemer of Grand Rapids (MI) South Christian High placed third in the mile in the 1979 meet. He later won the 3,000-meter steeplechase in the 1983 NCAA championships and the bronze medal in the 1984 Olympics.

Jim Spivey of Bensenville (IL) Fenton High won the two-mile run in 9:11.3 and ran a 1:54 split on the victorious two-mile relay team in the 1978 Midwest Meet of Champions. He was the 1982 NCAA champion in the 1,500 meters and won a bronze medal in the 1987 World championships.

Maicel Malone of Indianapolis (IN) North Central High set meet records of 11.74 in the women's 100 and 54.25 in the 400, and ran a leg on a team that won the 1,600 relay in 3:48.27 in the 1987 meet. She went on to win five NCAA titles (three indoors, two outdoors) in the 400 before running legs on 1,600 relay teams that won gold medals in the 1993 World championships and 1996 Olympics, and silver medals in the 1997 and 1999 World championships.

Intense team competition is also an integral part of the Midwest Meet of Champions.

Ohio, which won the inaugural men's team championship in 1974, has won 21 titles. The Buckeye State won its second consecutive team championship last year, giving itself 11 titles in the last 15 years. Michigan has won a total of 12 titles, followed by Indiana with seven.

Michigan, which won the first four four women's championships starting in 1980, has won 15 outright titles and shared another. Ohio, the five-time defending champion, has won 13 outright titles and shared one. Indiana has won three team championships, followed by Illinois with one.